Mental Health

10 Effective Ways To Relieve Stress

Stress is something we don’t want but we always get. Everyone wants to live stress free and not feel like there is a huge weight hanging over their shoulders. Before I discovered how to make my life as stress free as possible, I was going through some major anxiety. So, here is 10 things to do when you are stressed out and how to relieve it.

10 Effective Ways To Relieve Stress

Declutter your life

Just go and do a big cull of your life. The more useless possessions you have, the more discombobulated your life is. Get rid of useless furniture, dishes, clothes, shoes, jewelry, hair products, and even useless people in your life. You probably wouldn’t think that having a closet filled with 60 pairs of shoes would add stress to your life. But guess what, it really does.

How to help relieve stress by decluttering your life

Does that friend cause nothing but negativity in your life? get rid of them! You do not have to deal with them. Have clothes you haven’t worn in awhile? Get rid of them! Let someone else love them because I’m pretty sure you don’t enjoy it anymore. Do you have a ton of jewelry but you wear the same ones everyday. Guess what, get rid of the rest! You see a trend going on here? Yeah, get rid of excess things in your life and your stress levels will begin to get better.

 

Organize your life 

This is a great way to relieve stress for you college students (it can work with anyone but college students seem to be more unorganized). Organization is key when it comes to life.FYI, I am a organization-holic . When your life is well organized, the stress load is managed very well. Take these tips to organize your life better:

Start a bullet journal

Journaling itself relieves stress. However, a bullet journal is a customizable organization system that you can use to make anything from to-do list, daily summary, jot down notes, sketches, doodles, and more. Most people put all or some of these in their bullet journal rather than just one.

Buy a monthly/weekly planner

This is where I post all of my plans. These plans can be doctor appointments, blog post, volunteer work, job schedule, and basically whatever you will need. You don’t need anything fancy, just a normal one from Walmart or Target shall do.

Make to-do list

I’m a huge list fanatic! So, I usually make to do list before I start the day. I use my alarms as a template to making my to do list. Continue reading to know how I utilize alarms to keep my days manageable.

Set alarms for important time of the day

Have an alarm for when you need to wake up, go workout, work on your blog, check emails, and more. This has helped me so much because then I am not overwhelmed. I have the whole day planned out and scheduled for me everyday.

Use your phone to make important reminders

Sometimes, I am out and not have my planner on me. So, if plans come up and I do not  have my planner at my side, I set a reminder on my phone. 9 times out of 10 I forget about it and will set my reminder to notify me when I am making my planner updates everyday.

Find a hobby

When you have something that you love to do, it can really take your mind of things that are stressing you out. You can do anything you find interesting. As long as it distracts your from the stressful things in life and adds some happiness then you ma’am, have a hobby.  For me, I like to write, read, play video games, and do crafts.

Meditation

Many people do not know that your breathing pattern can reduce stress. Meditation is a technique that rest the mind. You are in a different state of consciousness that affects your memory, stress levels, your happiness.

What to do

When you are ready to meditate, I suggest you turn your phone on airplane mode. Then, set a timer to whatever time you’d like. Some people do 5 minutes some do 20 minutes (this s totally up to you). Sit in a quiet place and meditate (no you do not need to do the huuuuuuum unless you find it helpful).

Drink more tea

I don’t know about you but it’s something different when I drink tea. It’s like I am so calm and nothing is bothering me. My favorite to drink when I am feeling a little overwhelmed in peppermint  tea or chamomile tea. Some people find that coffee is their stress reliever rather than teas.

Write what you feel

How does writing relieve stress? Maybe your boss got you a little heated today? Write it down in your bullet journal. You know it’s not healthy to keep things inside. Small things can keep building up until you eventually explode one day!

What I like to do when someone has irritated me is make a short story of mystical creatures and torture them. Don’t find me crazy put that’s just what I do lol. If creative writing isn’t your cup of tea (yes, pun attended) maybe you can start to write some poetry. You don’t have to Maya Angelo level to write poetry.  Poetry is just a really great stress reliever.

20 minute a day rule

A lot of people have this 20 minute rule thing. Basically, you spend 20 minutes a day to do something that basically get neglected that eventually adds stress later on in the next few days, months, year, etc. One of those things for me was cleaning. So, I spent 20 minutes a day cleaning. Even if my house was spotless I would find something to clean for 20 minutes.

Workout more

Walking and running relieves a lot of stress. Ever heard of that story that a woman said that the man couldn’t have killed someone because he worked out everyday? Seems silly but they have truth to it because studies show that working relieves stress. You can kill 2 birds with one stone and spend 20 minutes everyday working out (hint hint).

Turn off your electronics

Spend some time through out the day to take a break from your phone. Even if blogging, vlogging, social media is your full time job, you need a break! Not only when you are sleeping but time through out the day. I will teach you in a later post on how you can utilize technology so that you don’t have to do it manually all day everyday!

Yoga

Yoga works to relieve stress in the calmest way. Yoga focuses on breathing and the calming sensations you have doing it makes you super relaxed and stress free. Not only the movements but the calming music is even better.

How to relieve your stress with yoga

You can do simple yoga movements or you can go to yoga classes.If you like the fact of staying in your own home then YouTube video is a great alternative.

There you go! 10 ways the accomplish a stress free life. Of course you don’t have to do all of these but adding at least one would improve your life tremendously! What are some ways that you relieve stress?

 

 

 

 

Save

4 thoughts on “10 Effective Ways To Relieve Stress

Leave a Reply

