minimalism

5 ways you can become a minimalist ninja

I can almost guarantee that many of you have too much stuff! Too much clothes, too much jewelry, too much makeup, and too much confusion. So I am going to give you 5 basic ways you can become a minimalist ninja.

 

becomeaminimalistninja

Clean out everything

Do a cull on your closet, makeup, and shoes. I will have a further break down on each category in future blog post. To become a minimalist, you will most likely get rid of a bunch of stuff! Then, you will limit yourself of a certain quantity for each category.

Start buying experiences and not material things

Ever since I began buying more experiences rather than material things, it’s almost like a have a different state of mind. Not only is this tip a lifestyle tip but it will also make you a smart minimalist. I don’t know about you, but I enjoy looking through pictures of places I have traveled to or watching the video I made from a family trip.

Limit your shopping

This is a big one. Minimalist usually are very content with what they do have and shop a lot less often then your average person.

The best thing for you to do is limit your shopping to seasons. You shop in transition to fall, winter, summer, and spring.

What I do is shop for clothes, shoes, and makeup twice a year. I will do a haul for fall and winter (the colder months) and then a haul for spring and summer (the warmer months). I don’t think many females can make it that long. But, when you are having fun with experiences you kind of don’t really care at that point.

Add one thing, take out one thing

I completely understand that you are a shopaholic. But oh my gosh, you do do not need to be a hoarder! Most minimalist are neither because they restrict themselves tremendously Having a bunch of clothes seemed normal too me and I thought that’s the way it was suppose to be.

Choose how much you want in one category. If you only want to have 15 shirts but you went and bought 3 shirts, you should go into your closet, drawers, or clothing racks and get rid of 3 items.

What can you do with the items you are getting rid of? You can give them away if you like. However, I like for my wardrobe money to go into a cycle (I will teach you about this in a future post). I sale clothes from stores like forever21, Charlotte Russe, and H&M to Plato’s Closet. I sell my unique or pricey pieces on Offerup or Poshmark(I adore Poshmark).

Evaluate yourself once a year

Did you do well with only having 15 shirts but want to challenge yourself to 12 shirts this year? Go for it! Maybe, you felt trapped and wanted to move it to 20 shirts instead and that’s okay. Just make sure you are limiting yourself and not causing so much chaos in your life through too much materialist things.

What I learned

I hope you are learning like I did about 2 years ago. I never really took a lot of advice from extreme minimalist since I wasn’t at that level (Only 32 pieces in my wardrobe including my shoes? Maybe one day but I can go cold turkey like that). Take these steps and I am sure you will notice a dramatic change in your life. You are now a minimalist ninja.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

