Blogging 101

5 ways to overcome your fear of blogging & become a blogging maniac

So you want to start a blog but you are afraid. I use to have my fears too but I got over them rather quickly. Here, I will tell you five things people think and how you can challenge it and become a maniac blogger. waystoovercomefearofbloggingandgetgoodatit

It’s not an essay

In my last blog post where I talk about 3 reasons why I love writing, I mentioned that I hated English class but still had a love for writing. You don’t need a intro, body, conclusion with a thesis statement where you have to revise and add thesis statements in your conclusion. NO, NO, NO! If that is your style, then go ahead. But, I prefer not to read blog post that look like you are about to submit it to your literature teacher for a grade.

What to do:

Make your post more personalized and not look like an essay! Essay form can get people pretty bored.

Your writing is unique

Your writing can be as unique as you want it. Your blog is really up to you. Adding personality is going to cause you more good than harm.

What to do:

What can you do now? like I mentioned, ANYTHING! Put smiley faces, pictures, you can write lol, a video, gifs, you can rant mid sentence, add a lot of color, etc. Don’t be afraid to be different, it will only help you more than you think 🙂 Talk in text like you do in real life.

People are not going to judge you

No, people are most likely not going to sign a petition to get your blog deleted off the face of the internet world (unless you posted something really, really, really, bad!).

A lot of newbies are always on their little tippy toes on if they should start a blog because they feel like people all over the world is going to come their blog and just crush their feelings.

“This blog literally just SUCKS!!”

“Who does he/she think she is? Your blog will never be anything useful to anyone.”

Honestly, I doubt anyone is saying all of those horrid things about your blog. It’s all in your head.

What to do:

I would say just do it! Nobody is going to judge you. If you still fell that way, I would recommend leaving your blog on private or only let family and friends see it before letting everyone on the web see it.

It’s okay to run out of ideas…but not all the time

I’m sure that many of you have read about writers block and bloggers running out of ideas for their blog. I remember when I was trying to start a blog for a certain niche and I just completely ran out of ideas for a few days.

What to do:

How did I overcome it? I use my imagination…well, something like that.

  • pictorials
  • monthly staple post
  • add more pictures
  • add videos
  • make list posting
  • post reviews
  • make a monthly favorite
  • discussion post
  • MORE!

 

Don’t worry about success

Was it your goal to become a millionaire overnight from that one post you posted last night? That chance is probably 1 out of 1,000,000,000.

What to do:

So, I would tell you this, making money blogging can take some time. More than likely, you are going to be blogging for some months or years before you make a living from blogging. Become consistent and i’m sure your blog will grow.

All in all

Just start your blog! Don’t worry about all that fancy writing, making $1,000,000 a year or worrying if people may or may not think your blog sucks. It’s your blog and you will find your audience.

Leave a Reply

